Skip to content
Boxing

Ngannou clashes with Fury at press conference for Joshua bout

Published on March 7, 2024
Chris
Written by Chris

Top Sports Books

18+ New customers only. Opt in, bet £10  on any football market at minimum 1/1 odds. No cash out. Get £40 in Free Bets on selected events. Free Bets expire in 7 days. Debit card / Apple Pay payments only. T&Cs apply, see below. begambleaware.org | Please gamble responsibly
18+ New Customers only. Max Win £10 Free Bet. Qualifying bets at odds 1/1 or greater. Paid as bonus token. Min 4/5 odds required. Skrill, Neteller, Paypal not eligible. BeGambleAware.org. T&Cs apply.
New UK, IE & Malta customers only. Min £10/€10 first deposit using Debit Card. Place a bet of £10 at min odds of 1.5 and get £10. Further £10 credited after 7 days and a further £10 credited after 14 days. Full T&Cs apply.18+. begambleaware.org  
New customers & 18+ only. Min. deposit of £10. The promotion reward functions as a £30 Surprise Bet. Qualifying real money bet of £10. Min odds greater than or equal to 1.5 required. E/W bets excluded. Offer awarded immediately but could be issued the next working day in exceptional circumstances such as technical fault. Additional T&Cs apply. Please gamble responsibly. Full T&Cs
18+ | Play Responsibly | T&Cs Apply. Begambleaware.org
Ngannou clashes with Fury at press conference for Joshua bout
  • Respectful tone at Joshua vs Ngannou press conference
  • Ngannou clash with Fury steals the show
  • Impressive undercard for Riyadh

Looking to have a punt on Joshua vs Ngannou? Check out our preview!

Ngannou and Fury Clash

Former UFC heavyweight champion Francis Ngannou has stirred the combat sports world once again as he gears up for a highly anticipated clash with British boxing star Anthony Joshua in Saudi Arabia this Friday. However, it was his verbal sparring with former opponent Tyson Fury that stole the spotlight at Wednesday’s press conference.

Ngannou, who left the UFC as its reigning heavyweight champion last year, shifted his attention to Fury during the press conference, emphasising that he’s “just getting started” in the boxing realm. The French-Cameroonian fighter, still fresh from his contentious split-decision loss to Fury in October, expressed his desire for a rematch, asserting, “I had one win over [Fury] and I want one more.”

In a heated exchange, Fury challenged Ngannou to face him in the UFC’s trademark octagon, to which Ngannou countered that Fury’s only chance lies in a boxing ring, under boxing rules.

Reflecting on his journey into boxing, Ngannou remained confident, despite the impending showdown with Joshua, stating, “I’m just getting started. I don’t think that [beating Joshua] will make any statement of my career because the road is still long.” The prospect of potentially fighting for a world title in only his third boxing bout looms large, should he emerge victorious against Joshua.

Check out the best boxing betting websites.

Joshua relaxed and focussed

Meanwhile, Joshua, who appeared relaxed during the grand arrivals, took a more reserved approach as the fight draws near. When asked about Ngannou’s prediction of seeking a knockout, Joshua succinctly responded, “Let’s go. The best man will always win. It’s not rocket science.”

Promoter Eddie Hearn weighed in on Joshua’s prospects, predicting that the British boxer will become the undisputed champion. He highlighted the potential for the winner of Friday’s bout to face either Oleksandr Usyk or Fury, likely in 2025. Fury and Usyk will face-off in May.

Quality undercard in Riyadh

In addition to the Joshua-Ngannou showdown, the event will feature other compelling matchups, including Joseph Parker’s challenge against Zhilei Zhang for the WBO interim heavyweight title and Rey Vargas defending his WBC featherweight title against Nick Ball.

The fight card promises an array of exciting bouts across multiple weight divisions, setting the stage for an electrifying night of boxing in Riyadh.

Riyadh Card
Anthony Joshua vs Francis Ngannou (heavyweight)
Zhilei Zhang (C) vs Joseph Parker (WBO interim heavyweight title)
Rey Vargas (C) vs Nick Ball (WBC featherweight title)
Israel Madrimov vs Magomed Kurbanov (vacant WBA super-welterweight title)
Gavin Gwynne vs Mark Chamberlain (lightweight)
Justis Huni vs Kevin Lerena (heavyweight)
Mark Chamberlain vs Gavin Gwynne (lightweight)
Jack McGann vs Louis Greene (super-welterweight)
Roman Fury vs Martin Svarc (cruiserweight)

When is Joshua vs Ngannou?

Joshua vs Ngannou is set to take place on Friday 8 March in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. The event is expected to begin at 5pm GMT (10am PT, 12pm CT, 1pm ET), with ring walks for Joshua vs Ngannou likely to start at 10.30pm GMT (3.30pm PT, 5.30pm CT, 6.30pm ET).

How can I watch Joshua vs Ngannou?

The event will stream live on DAZN in the UK, US and worldwide, with Sky Sports also broadcasting the fight in the UK.

Check out the best betting sites in the UK with Betting.com.

Share this article
Article link copied!
Chris

Chris is a former athlete and a qualified PE teacher. He is a keen football fan, watching many matches at different levels throughout the season, and enjoys following many different sports. With betting and sports sites, he has a keen eye for detail and can to highlight positives and negatives for users. His experience in sport as a performer, teacher, writer and fan allows him to see things from many different perspectives.

Betting.com Editorial Promise
Join our newsletter

Stay updated on the latest sports betting offers, insights, and receive valuable suggestions to enhance your betting experience!